Environmental Standard RTCA DO-160 Qualification Requirements List

Underline Image

RTCA Qualification requirements cover acceptable environmental airworthiness and safety qualifications that must be passed before a piece of electronic equipment can be DO-160 qualified. RightHand Technologies’ engineering practices ensure that these items are addressed during the design of all aircraft equipment.

RTCA DO-160 qualification testing covers the following areas:

  • Temperature and altitude
  • Temperature variation
  • Humidity
  • Operational shocks and crash safety
  • Vibration
  • Explosion proofness
  • Waterproofness
  • Fluids susceptibility
  • Sand and dust
  • Fungus resistance
  • Salt fog
  • Icing
  • Electrostatic discharge
  • Flammability
  • Aircraft atmospheric radiation environment
  • Magnetic effects
  • Power input
  • Voltage spike
  • Audio frequency conducted susceptibility
  • Inducted signal susceptibility
  • Radio Frequency susceptibility
  • Radio Frequency emission
  • Lightning indirect susceptibility
  • Lightning direct effects